

The South Centre in a nutshell

What the South Centre is

The South Centre is the developing country intergovernmental organization (IGO) that helps developing countries to combine their efforts and expertise to promote their common interests in the international arena.

The South Centre was established by an Intergovernmental Agreement which came into force on 31 July 1995. Its headquarters are in Geneva, Switzerland.

Since 2012, the **Convenor of the Council of Representatives** of the Member States of the South Centre is **H.E. Ambassador Abdul Minty** of the Republic of South Africa. Mr. Minty is a well-known expert on issues relating to disarmament, human rights, and humanitarian affairs. He has been South Africa's representative to the IAEA Board of Governors since 1995.

Since 2006, the **Chairperson of the South Centre Board** is **H.E. former President Benjamin W. Mkapa** of the United Republic of Tanzania. He was the third President of the United Republic of Tanzania (1995-2005). After handing over power, former President Mkapa has engaged in a number of prominent global initiatives aimed at reducing abject poverty in Africa, equal economic opportunity for all mankind, and combating the HIV/AIDS pandemic.

The **Executive Director** of the South Centre is **Mr. Martin Khor** of Malaysia who joined in March 2009. Prior to joining the South Centre, he was the Director of the Third World Network (TWN). He has worked as an editor and columnist for various newspapers and has been engaged in expert groups and activities regarding trade, sustainable development, intellectual property rights, and development.

What the South Centre does

The South Centre provides policy research and analysis on various international policy areas that are relevant to the protection and promotion of the development interests of developing countries.

The South Centre works to assist developing countries in developing points of view of the South on major policy issues. The South Centre generates ideas and actionoriented proposals for governments, IGOs, and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) from the South. The Centre also responds to requests for policy advice, and for technical and other support from collective entities of the South such as the Group of 77 and China and the Non-Aligned Movement.

What the South Centre's work areas are

The South Centre works on a wide range of issues relevant to the countries of the South and the global community in general, such as development policies, sustainable development, climate change, global governance, economic and social development, South-South cooperation, global economic conditions, intellectual property, technology transfer, access to knowledge, health, multilateral and regional trade, and food security.



What the South Centre stands for

The South Centre's mission is guided by two principles: South unity in diversity and South progress through cooperation.

South unity in diversity

The South Centre aims at promoting common interests among the countries of the South while recognizing and reflecting their diversity. For this, the South Centre works for mutual understanding among the countries and peoples of the South.

It also encourages coordinated participation by developing countries in international fora dealing with South-South and North-South matters related to development.

South progress through cooperation

The South Centre works to put South intellect and capacities in the service of progress and development. The experience sharing and cooperation not only among the countries of the South but also with the North should be carried out on the basis of equity and justice for all and contribute to the democratization and strengthening of the United Nations and its family of organizations.

The South Centre's Member States (51 as of May 2013)

Algeria Angola Barbados Benin Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Brazil Burundi Cambodia Cape Verde China Côte d'Ivoire Cuba Democratic	Republic of Korea Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt Gabon Ghana Guyana Honduras India Indonesia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq	Jordan Liberia Libya Malawi Malaysia Mali Mauritius Micronesia (Federated States of) Morocco Mozambique Namibia Nigeria Pakistan	Philippines Seychelles Sierra Leone South Africa Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Uganda United Republic of Tanzania Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) Viet Nam Zimbabwe
People's	Jamaica	Panama	Ziiiibabwe

Headquarters

17 Chemin du Champ d'Anier 1211 Geneva Switzerland www.southcentre.int